Loading...
Home2019-09-01T11:49:01+02:00

Stop Finning – Stop the trade!

Every year, between 63 and 273 million sharks die as a result of human activity.[1] The exact numbers remain speculation, as there is a lack of reliable data and the worldwide number of unreported cases of illegal fishing is extremely high. Sharks are hunted worldwide, primarily because of their fins. These are eaten especially in the Asian region as shark fin soup. For this supposed delicacy, with a few grams of fins, up to 90€ are required.[2] A lucrative business with huge profit margins at the expense of the sharks!

The fins are often caught in a cruel way by “finning”. Finning means that the sharks’ fins are cut off alive. The animals are then thrown overboard because their meat is almost worthless compared to the fins. Without fins the sharks sink to the seabed where they suffocate, bleed to death or are eaten alive.

This business is also served from Europe.

Since 2013, the so-called “Fins Naturally Attached” regulation of the European Union prohibits without exception the storage, transhipment and landing of all shark fins in EU waters and on all EU ships. The fins must remain naturally attached to the carcass when the ship is unloaded in port. The fins can then be separated from the animal and exported to Asia.

It is time to finally take consistent action in Europe to protect sharks and our oceans! Therefore, we ask you to support this opportunity to rethink legislation in the European Union.

1 IUCN Shark Specialist Group, Frequently Asked Questions: Sharks, Rays, and chimaeras; https://www.iucnssg.org/faqs.html.
2 Kimley, Peter A. Peter, The Biology of Sharks and Rays, 2013, S. 451.

Launch of the EU Citizens’ Initiative

It´s time for Europe to act!
Submission of the EU Citizens' Initiative
0
0
0
Weeks
0
0
0
0
Days
0
0
Hrs
0
0
Min
0
0
Sec

The EU Citizens’ Initiative

The European Citizens’ Initiative is the direct way to propose a concrete legislative change to the European Commission, as opposed to a petition decided by the Petitions Committee of the European Parliament.

As of 2012, EU citizens have had the right to apply directly to the European Commission with a European Citizens’ Initiative in order to propose a concrete legislative amendment.

To do this, a citizens’ committee must first be set up, consisting of at least seven members* from at least seven different EU countries. After successful assessment of the initiative by the European Commission, the Citizens’ Committee has one year to collect signatures.

We are looking for initiators throughout Europe who actively co-found a European Citizens’ Initiative.

For our demand to stop the import, export and transit of shark fins we are looking for initiators throughout Europe who actively co-found a European citizens’ initiative. We are seeking active marine conservationists who are already engaged in an environmental protection organisation in order to address joint demand to policymakers throughout Europe.

Please get in touch with us at stop.finning.EU@sharkproject.org

Let me know when the citizens’ initiative starts!

I would like to sign the citizens’ initiative and be informed how to proceed.

Why something has to change …

In the EU in the Finning has been prohibited since 2003 as a result of a regulation ((EC) No 1185/2003). Under this Regulation, fishermen were prohibited from removing shark fins on board vessels. However, a provision was made to allow EU Member States to obtain special authorizations (special fishing permits) to remove fins on board. Spain and Portugal in particular made use of these special permits.

This Regulation was supplemented in 2013 and also removed the possibility of granting any special permits. This stricter “fins-naturally-attached” regulation prohibits all EU vessels and all vessels fishing in EU waters from removing shark fins on board before landing the fish. Once the sharks have been landed, the fins may be removed and transported separately from the shark.

Some countries around the world have already enacted similar laws. [1] However, only a few countries prohibit trade in severed shark fins. This opens up the possibility that even in countries with “fins naturally on the body” regulations, it is no longer possible to trace how the fins were sourced once on land.

Only Appendix I of the Washington Convention provides real safeguards against the commercial use of endangered species. Trade in animal species on this Appendix is prohibited worldwide. For example, the five species of rhinoceros are almost all included in this Annex because of their high risk of extinction. [2]

Both species of African elephants are also heavily protected by the Convention. [3] Here the biodiversity of sharks turns out to be a severe setback. Of the more than 500 shark species, 85 are listed as threatened on the IUCN Red List. [4] Nevertheless, no shark species has yet been listed in Appendix I of the Washington Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora.

Only 10 species have been included in Appendix II, which regulates trade by strict rules but does not prohibit it. And even if trade in individual species is placed under protection, there are still enough others which can be used for the fin trade.

Even for protected species, the protective measures would not be successful with the current regulation. Cargos of shark fins are often a mix from many different species. It is hardly possible to identify any protected species. And so it goes on: If fin trading is permitted worldwide and no sufficient quota of observers can be guaranteed on the vessels of the fishing industry, [5] fins can continue to appear on the market whose origin nobody can explain.

The solution: If sharks are to be protected, the fins must be traceable. We therefore call for the “Fins naturally attached” regulation to be extended to all trade within the EU.

[1] https://www.hsi.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/2019-Shark-Fishing-and-Finning-Regulations.pdf
[2] https://mobil.wwf.de/fileadmin/fm-wwf/Publikationen-PDF/CITES_Nashoerner.pdf
[3] Due to the population stability of elephants in southern Africa, the populations of Botswana, Namibia, Zimbabwe and South Africa were downgraded to CITES Appendix II in 1997 and 2000 respectively. However, the ivory of these animals is after an addition to this listing, as Appendix I and may therefore not be traded: https://mobil.wwf.de/fileadmin/fm-wwf/Publikationen-PDF/WWF-Hintergrundpapier-CITES-Elfenbeinhandel.pdf
[4] All species classified by the IUCN as Critically Endangered, Endangered and Vulnerable are considered threatened.
[5] The observation rate on Spanish longline fleets fishing swordfish and blue sharks in the Atlantic is only 1-3%; North and South Atlantic swordfish Spanish longline fishery; MSC Public Comment Draft Report, Volume 1; October 2016; page 44 pp

#stopfinningEU

Shortly you will find here all actions around the hashtag #stopfinningEU.

News

Loading...
Home2019-11-06T13:32:46+01:00

Der Handel mit Haiflossen in Europa muss sofort enden!

Jährlich sterben zwischen 63 bis 273 Millionen Haie [1] durch Menschenhand. Die genauen Zahlen bleiben Spekulation, da es an verlässlichen Daten fehlt und die weltweite Dunkelziffer durch illegalen Fang extrem hoch ist. Gejagt werden Haie weltweit besonders wegen ihrer Flossen. Diese werden vor allem im asiatischen Raum als Haiflossensuppe verzehrt. Für die vermeintliche Delikatesse mit wenigen Gramm Flossen werden bis zu 90€ verlangt.[2] Ein extrem lukratives Geschäft mit gewaltigen Gewinnmargen auf Kosten der Haie!

Die Flossen werden oft auf grausame Weise durch „Finning” gewonnen. Finning bedeutet, dass den Haien bei lebendigem Leib die Flossen abgeschnitten werden. Die Tiere werden anschließend über Bord geworfen, da ihr Fleisch verglichen mit den Flossen nahezu wertlos ist. Ohne Flossen sinken die Haie auf den Meeresgrund, wo sie ersticken, verbluten oder lebendig gefressen werden.

Dieses Geschäft wird auch aus Europa bedient.

Seit 2013 verbietet die sogenannte „Fins Naturally Attached“ Verordnung der Europäischen Union [3] ausnahmslos das Aufbewahren, Umladen und Anlanden jeglicher Haiflossen in EU-Hoheitsgewässern und auf allen EU-Schiffen.

Gemeinsam haben wir jetzt die Gelegenheit, in der Europäischen Union ein Umdenken zu erzeugen und eine wirkliche Verbesserung für den Schutz der Haie zu erreichen.

1 IUCN Shark Specialist Group, Frequently Asked Questions: Sharks, Rays, and chimaeras; https://www.iucnssg.org/faqs.html.
2 Kimley, Peter A. Peter, The Biology of Sharks and Rays, 2013, S. 451.

Bis zur Enscheidung der EU-Kommission

Es wird Zeit, dass wir in Europa handeln!
EU-Kommission Entscheidung
0
0
0
Weeks
0
0
0
0
Days
0
0
Hrs
0
0
Min
0
0
Sec

Die Europäische Bürgerinitiative

Die Europäische Bürgerinitiative ist der direkte Weg um bei der Europäischen Kommission eine konkrete Gesetzesänderung vorzuschlagen, im Unterschied zu einer Petition, die vom Petitionsausschuss des Europäischen Parlaments entschieden wird.

Seit 2012 besteht für EU-Bürger/innen die Möglichkeit, sich mit einer Europäischen Bürgerinitiative direkt an die Europäische Kommission zu wenden.

Dazu muss zunächst ein Bürgerausschuss gegründet werden, welcher aus mindestens sieben Mitgliedern* aus mindestens sieben verschiedenen EU-Staaten besteht. Nach erfolgreicher Prüfung der Initiative durch die Europäische Kommission hat der Bürgerausschuss ein Jahr Zeit, um Unterschriften zu sammeln.

Informieren Sie mich, wenn die Bürgerinitiative startet!

Ich möchte die Bürgerinitiative unterzeichnen und informiert werden, wie es weiter geht.

Warum sich etwas ändern muss …

In der EU in das Finning seit 2003 durch eine Verordnung ((EG) Nr. 1185/2003) untersagt. Nach dieser Verordnung war Fischern das Abtrennen von Haiflossen an Bord der Schiffe untersagt- Allerdings sah eine Ausnahmeregelung vor, dass EU-Mitgliedstaaten Sondergenehmigungen (spezielle Fangerlaubnisse) zu der Abtrennung der Flossen an Bord erhalten konnten. Von dieser Regelung machten besonders Spanien und Portugal von diesen Sondergenehmigungen Gebrauch.

Diese Verordnung wurde 2013 ergänzt und widerrief auch die Möglichkeit der Sondergenehmigungen. Durch diese strengere „Fins-naturally-attached“-Verordnung ist es allen EU-Schiffen und allen Schiffen, die in EU-Gewässern fischen, untersagt, Haiflossen an Bord zu entfernen, bevor sie den Fisch anlanden. Sobald die Haie angelandet sind, dürfen die Flossen entfernt werden und getrennt vom Hai transportiert werden.

Weltweit haben bereits einige Staaten ähnliche Gesetze erlassen.[1] Jedoch verbieten nur wenigen Staaten den Handel mit abgetrennten Haiflossen. So eröffnet sich die Möglichkeit, dass auch in Ländern, die über eine „Flossen natürlich am Körper“-Regelung verfügen, an Land nicht mehr nachvollzogen werden kann, auf welche Weise die Flossen gewonnen wurden.

Wirklichen Schutz für die kommerzielle Nutzung von bedrohten Tierarten bietet nur der Anhang I des Washingtoner Artenschutzabkommens. Mit Tierarten, die in diesen Anhang aufgenommen werden, ist der Handel weltweit untersagt. So sind etwa die fünf Nashornarten wegen ihrer starken Bedrohung beinahe vollständig in diesen Anhang aufgenommen worden.[2] Auch die beiden Arten des Afrikanischen Elefanten werden durch das Abkommen stark geschützt.[3]

Hier wird für die Haie ihre Artenvielfalt zum Nachteil. Von den mehr als 500 Haiarten werden 85 auf der Roten Liste der IUCN als bedroht aufgeführt.[4] Dennoch ist bisher keine Haiart in den Anhang I des Washingtoner Artenschutzabkommens aufgenommen worden.

Lediglich 10 Arten sind in den Anhang II aufgenommen worden, der einen Handel strengen Regeln unterwirft, aber nicht untersagt. Und selbst wenn der Handel mit einzelnen Arten unter Schutz gestellt wird, verbleiben genug weitere, auf die für das Geschäft mit den Flossen ausgewichen werden kann.

Und auch für die geschützten Arten würden die Schutzmaßnahmen keinen Erfolg bringen. Bei Flossenlieferungen werden immer wieder auch Flossen von verschiedenen Arten vermischt. Die geschützten Arten zu identifizieren, ist kaum möglich. Und es geht weiter: Solange der Flossenhandel weltweit erlaubt bleibt, und auf den Schiffen der Fischereiindustrie keine ausreichende Quote an Beobachtern gewährleistet werden kann,[5] können also weiterhin Flossen auf dem Markt auftauchen, deren Herkunft niemand erklären kann.

Der Ausweg: Es muss zu jeder Zeit nachvollziehbar sein, zu welchem Tier die Flossen gehören. Deshalb fordern wir, die „Fins naturally attached“-Verordnung auf den Handel in der EU auszuweiten.

[1] https://www.hsi.org/wp-content/uploads/2019/06/2019-Shark-Fishing-and-Finning-Regulations.pdf
[2] https://mobil.wwf.de/fileadmin/fm-wwf/Publikationen-PDF/CITES_Nashoerner.pdf
[3] Zwar wurden 1997 bzw. 2000, auf Grund der stabilen Elefantenbestände im südlichen Afrika die Populationen von Botswana, Namibia, Simbabwe und Südafrika auf CITES-Anhang II herabgestuft. Das Elfenbein dieser Tiere wird aber entsprechend einer Ergänzung dieser Listung wie Anhang I behandelt und darf daher trotzdem nicht gehandelt werden: https://mobil.wwf.de/fileadmin/fm-wwf/Publikationen-PDF/WWF-Hintergrundpapier-CITES-Elfenbeinhandel.pdf
[4] Als bedroht gelten alle Arten, die von der IUCN als „Critically Endangered“, „Endangered“ und „Vulnerable“ eingestuft werden.
[5] So liegt etwa die Beobachterquote auf spanischen Langleinenflotten die im Atlantik Schwertfisch und Blauhai fangen lediglich 1-3%; North and South Atlantic swordfish Spanish longline fishery; MSC Public Comment Draft Report, Volume 1; October 2016; Seite 44 pp .

#stopfinningEU

In Kürze finden Sie hier alle Aktionen rund um den Hashtag #stopfinningEU.